Why I Don’t Believe In Religion & God


 

**Note: When I refer to God I am speaking of the God of the bible, Quran, both monotheistic, and polytheistic Gods. I am speaking of deities whose existence cannot be proven and shown objectively, but have garnered the admiration and belief of billions: spawning holy texts, churches, mosques etc.**

 

I imagine many Christians, and others of differing faiths who have not deeply questioned their religious convictions wonder why a person would turn away from religion, and a belief in God. My short answer is that there is simply no reason to believe in God, or subscribe to a religion. I, like I suspect many atheists, was born into a household of believers. As I was growing up I remember I’d pray to God. I don’t recollect praying for materialistic objects, no, most of the time my prayers consisted of asking God to give me courage to perform certain tasks. However, the notion that God did not exist didn’t enter my mind until I began re-evaluating my beliefs in my late teens. And that is the problem I think, most children are indoctrinated at a young age. They are made to believe one thing, without being given an alternative. After all, if a child is born into a Christian household, he will be a Christian, but if he’s born into a Muslim household, he will end up a Muslim. Both which are considered different faiths. I suspect many kids who grow up believing in God as I did never really give it much thought.

As I previously stated, simply put, there is no reason to believe in God. But I will go a little in depth on why I don’t believe in God with a list of reasons.

1.) In all the time man has existed on this blue planet -which can be compared to an astronomical blink of an eye- man has created thousands of Gods. Even certain men have been elevated to Deity status. My question is how is the Abrahamic God of today’s monotheistic religions any different than Zeus, Poseidon or any of the ancient Gods that people long ago once worshipped? We seem to be okay with classifying Zeus as a figment of people’s imaginations because “that’s what people believed in a long time ago”. But that is precisely my point, people believed in Zeus just as strongly as Christians believe in God, or Muslims in Allah. I predict that in time the God we have all grown to know will be replaced by another, and if humanity doesn’t grow up, the trend will certainly continue.

2.) Humanity seems to have a fascination with Gods and placing them as substitute explanations for that which we have no scientific answer. Simply put, just because we don’t know how something works, doesn’t mean God did it…

3.) Someone somewhere likes to attribute rare events to intervention by his or her respective God. Some Christians claim that God answers their prayers; well I say what makes that any different than a Muslim claiming that Allah answered his prayers? What makes that any different than followers of ancient Gods claiming divine intervention? Another rare event too often attributed to God is the miraculous survival of someone near death. Not too long ago I read a news story about a man who either jumped, or fell from a very high building. Somehow he survived the impact, and many people who commented attributed his survival to intervention by a deity. Let’s say this God did in fact intervene and saved this man’s life. Does that make him a good God, or a “just God” as he is claimed to be? Of course not. If he will intervene to save one man’s life, why did he not intervene during 9/11 and somehow, using his omnipotence, guide those planes to a safe landing somewhere out of New York? So many people died in those buildings and in those planes that day. Do people honestly believe that God would intervene to allow one man to survive, while letting thousands of innocents die? “God works in mysterious ways” is the common answer among those who can’t think for themselves. It’s the ultimate copout in a religious discussion.

Do I think A God Can Exist? – Yes of course I do, completely abandoning the idea wouldn’t be very smart on my part. When it comes down to it, the random beginning of the universe through a Big Bang type scenario, and the purposeful creation of the universe by an intelligent being are both just as plausible. 50/50 I’d say, because nobody can say with complete certainty exactly how the cosmos came to be. However, to me the God of the bible is the religious equivalent of Santa Claus. In other words, I am 99% certain he does not exist. I am more inclined to believe in the existence of the God of Deistic beliefs. Deism – The belief that God exists and created the world but takes no part in its functioning. With all of the suffering in the world, poverty, murder, starvation, if a loving God does exist, (and it certainly cannot be proven that he does or does not) wouldn’t it make sense for him to put an end to this senseless violence and suffering? Arguments of human free will are usually made to counter my point, but how effective are such arguments when their main catalysts do not exist? In this case the main catalyst of the free will argument is, obviously free will, which brings me to my 4th reason why I don’t believe in God.

4.) Freewill and omniscience – It has long been believed by Christians that free will was a gift from God. Freewill is our ability to do as we choose, and omniscience is a deity’s ability to know all: past, present, and future. But how can I have the freewill to choose a course of action, when said course of action was long ago predicted by the omniscient being? In other words, I have no choice but to do what God predicted I would do. If I die an unlawful sinner, how can God condemn me to eternal damnation when he already knew of my sins before they were committed? Let’s go back to the supposed beginning of man on earth, the fictional story of Adam and Eve. Did God not know that Eve would take a bite out of that fruit, and in doing so seal their fate? The rules of omniscience say yes, he did know, but if he knew all along then why forbid Adam & Eve from entering the Garden of Eden? We can even take this argument one step further, rendering God powerless by his own omniscience.

5.) This isn’t really a reason why I don’t believe in God, it’s more of an irritant. There is a reason why belief in God, Gods and religion is called a faith. That reason is that such beliefs are not proven fact. So it boggles my mind when I see, or read of religious apologists arguing in favor of God’s existence, and attempting to prove it as something other than a purely subjective belief unsubstantiated by any level of credible evidence. The point of number 5 is that the existence of God cannot be proved, granted, neither can it be disproved. But you wouldn’t exactly go out of your way to disprove the existence of the boogeyman would you? However, if someone claimed to have seen the boogeyman, on whose shoulders would the burden of proof lie? Not the skeptic’s, that’s for sure.

Does It Take Faith To Lack Belief? – It does, according to many religious apologists. It is a baseless claim often repeated by theists when backed into a corner by atheists. They claim atheism, the lack of belief in a deity, requires just as much faith as theistic belief. If this is true, shouldn’t this faith also apply to lack of belief in other mythical creatures? Does it require faith to not believe in, say, Big Foot? Does it require faith to believe that the Loch Ness Monster, a creature for which no credible evidence has been presented (as is the case with a loving deity), also does not exist?

6.) Omnipotence, Omnipresence and Omniscience are attributed to the God of the bible, but perhaps another term better suited for him is Incompetence. Why would such an advanced being choose such a primitive people to relay his message to? Why would he allow his words to be skewed, mistranslated and used as justifications for murder and violence? Moreover, why would such as perfect God allow stories to be kept from the bible, see Lilith: Adam’s first woman. Wouldn’t it make sense, if he truly wanted us to believe, to let his voice be heard, literally, as a loud voice in the sky or something of that sort? He’s omnipotent after all, so he can assuredly do such a thing. Even further, it makes no sense that such a powerful God would actually care whether I, an ant in comparison, believed in him or not.

7.) The God of the bible displays childish human characteristics such as jealously and anger, but yet everybody tells me that God is well beyond the realm of human understanding.

8.) I picked up this next one from the late comedian George Carlin. Prayer is possibly the biggest sect of religious belief; it is the act of getting on ones knees, and in a sense “speaking to God”. It is also widely believed that God has a plan, a “divine plan” if you will. Suppose a believer was to get on his knees and pray, let’s say for a prosperous future. If this person’s prosperous future is not in God’s divine plan, doesn’t that render his prayer useless? Doesn’t the divine plan render prayer in general useless?

9.) Extremists – Religion has certainly given birth to some of the biggest extremists in the history of humankind. I cannot count how many times I’ve come across a story in which parents allowed their child to die of a treatable illness because receiving medical attention was forbidden by their religious beliefs. A seething hatred of homosexuals, and refusal to allow them the right of marriage is also another type of idiocy religion breeds. While protesting against gays, a Christian extremist said about homosexuals, and I quote “I don’t hate them, God hates them”. This footage can be found in Bill Maher’s documentary “Religulous”. The extreme pro-lifers are another brand of stupid people fueled, sometimes to murderous extent, by religion. What is ironic about that though is, like is often said, they fight valiantly for the life of the unborn, but think nothing of murdering an already living abortion doctor. Another claim by religious apologists is that America was founded as a Christian nation. The founding fathers were secular, and despised the idea of religion intertwined with government as it arguably is today in some form.

 

The following is a quotation from the Treaty Of Tripoli drafted under George Washington in 1796 and signed by John Adams in 1797:

As the Government of the United States of America is not, in any sense, founded on the Christian religion; as it has in itself no character of enmity against the laws, religion, or tranquility, of Musselmen; and as the said States never have entered in any war or act of hostility against any Mehomitan nation, it is declared by the parties that no pretext arising from religious opinions shall ever produce an interruption of the harmony existing between the two countries.

 

The following are quotes from the Founding Fathers

Thomas Jefferson

“Shake off all the fears of servile prejudices, under which weak minds are servilely crouched. Fix reason firmly in her seat, and call on her tribunal for every fact, every opinion. Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be one, he must more approve of the homage of reason than that of blindfolded fear”.

“Christianity is the most perverted system that ever shone on man”

James Madison

“During almost fifteen centuries has the legal establishment of Christianity been on trial. What has been its fruits? More of less, in all places, pride and indolence in the clergy; ignorance and servility in the laity; in both, superstition, bigotry and persecution.”

Benjamin Franklin

“Lighthouses are more useful than churches”

John Adams

“As I understand the Christian religion, it was, and is, a revelation. But how has it happened that millions of fables, tales, legends, have been blended with both Jewish and Christian revelation that have made them the most bloody religion that ever existed?”

In a letter to Jefferson, Adams’ wrote the following: “I almost shudder at the thought of alluding to the most fatal example of the abuses of grief which the history of mankind has preserved – the Cross. Consider what calamities that engine of grief has produced!”

 

A quick google search will round up many more quotes from the Founding Fathers regarding Christianity, and judging from these quotes, does it still occur to you that the United States of America was founded as a Christian nation?

Some may claim that I only focus my wrath on Christianity. I don’t only attack Christianity; I attack organized religion as a whole. Christianity gets the brunt of my criticism because it is the most prevalent in America, my country of birth. But in all actuality, I see no difference between Islam, Christianity, monotheistic, and polytheistic religions. They’re all in the same boat as far as lack of evidence is concerned.

And now to dispel certain myths about atheists that are abound on the Internet. No I am not a demon, and I don’t know the devil. I am not his evil offspring and nor do I believe he exists. I am not a part of an evil conspiracy to destroy all organized religions. Anger at God did not turn me towards atheism. I am a moral person, and I don’t need a God to tell me that murder, and stealing is wrong. Simple common sense has brought me to that conclusion.

Will I Remain An Atheist? As it stands now, I don’t see a shred of credible, objective evidence that will turn me from atheism to the world of theism. Should I experience something that others would deem divine in nature, I doubt I would fall into the web of blind belief that has claimed so many others. After all, for most of my young life I considered everything that happened to me, whether good or bad, to somehow be intertwined with God’s plan for me. If a particular situation occurred which affected me negatively, I considered it a punishment from heaven for a past sin I committed. If a positive experience had made its way into my life, I would also attribute it to God, possibly a reward etc.

When it comes down to it, I have zero qualms with those who believe in God, unless they’re of the extremist persuasion. The purpose of this was merely to show why I don’t believe in God, not to convert others to my point of view. To those far more experienced in this subject, obviously I didn’t cover anything new, it has all been discussed to death over hundreds of years.

40 comments on “Why I Don’t Believe In Religion & God

  1. Brilliant… I couldn’t have said it better myself… My favorite question to ask when someone has to test my Atheism, because you know they can’t let go the fact that you don’t believe what they believe is: If he can do everything and anything, then why is there so much pain and suffering in the world? So much could be done and hasn’t. The world was made in 7 days. He rested on the 7th? Why did he need to rest? Why did it even take 7 days? So many questions that could and will never be answered. But I enjoyed your post very much. Thanks.

    Andrew

  2. My favorite point you made was your number 4. Finally, someone who made the point I’ve been trying to straighten out in my own head for the past 15 years. It makes sense and you wrote it so beautifully. Thank you!

  3. Hello buddy,
    I am not religious, all you’re points are good. However, have you ever wondered about the symbolic meaning of god(in all forms). Not just the bible which gives a literal avenue for common folk in order to create a backbone of common morals to detract from the natural chaos of societies, and therefore make them easier to exploit for political and commercial benefit. So I can see where your and my distaste for religion stems, the exploitation of the bible(or quran or torah), and all of the misuses of these religious texts throughout history. In order to really reject religion, you as a person should try and gain as much perspective on the argument. After all it is ur “spirituality” you are risking letting slip away from your conscious life. So I’m just saying my man. There are some sources out there, smart philosophical people who could probably prove all of your beliefs wrong. And although I am not well schooled in this and I have recently climbed off of my atheist throne I believe one of the arguments is this.

    Life is about experience and stimulation
    There are those who have entered a state of permanent bliss
    Bliss is the equivalent of heaven on earth
    The people claiming to have reached this state all believe in spirituality and maintain the bliss through trials and tribulations.
    Even if they are achieving this through ignorance, they are still achieving it

    Religion is causing a lot of problems in the world with personal freedoms, and people are running from it because it is still an old dusty law machine as one part, and a spiritual adviser as the other. It used to have to fulfill both tasks.

    So before you decide to say fuck all religion its all stupid consider that. Yes things need to change. But spirituality is a very cool concept and I wouldn’t relish it’s extinction. Would you?

  4. No problem Tambree, and thanks for reading and commenting on my blog.

    and Ben, judging from your comment, we seem to agree on quite a bit. I take an I don’t know stance on all forms of a God, because honestly, there is simply no way to know if a supreme being, or beings exists whether tangible or intangible. Though I place the religious gods, such as Allah in the myth category. Like I stated I am not completely closed off to the idea of a creator, but with no evidence to sway my opinion in definitive direction, I refuse to make a definitive decision.

  5. I really enjoyed this post, you’ve done a very good job of summarizing, well, pretty much everything I would want to hit if writing about my own lack of faith. It’s also very readable. Most of these sorts of posts that I’ve read tend to digress a bit when the writer hits a point that’s particularly important to them, and you avoided that and kept the topic moving along.

    Speaking of digressing :) – on Ben’s topic if I can just jump in – there are some cool things about spirituality, as far as what you’re(Ben) talking about – maintaining a sense of bliss through trials and tribulations – but it’s mostly interesting to me because of how it might be connected to various neurological processes (I’m a big fan of the placebo effect, so cool). I think people should, for the most part (obviously excluding doing things harmful to others), do whatever it is they want to do with what appears to be the one brief life they have, but from a standpoint of social responsibility I would prefer that they do that with one foot on the ground for when things like voting in elections come up.

    I see parallels between that constant obsession with bliss and the use of recreational drugs, and I don’t have a problem with recreational drug use. But aside from curiosity about how the brain works, how impressed should anyone be with others’ ability to convince themselves through constant repetition that they’re in tune with a universal intelligence or consciousness? You said life is about experience and stimulation, but aren’t those people ultimately limiting themselves and what stimulates them by the very fact that they’ve chosen to focus on their specific repeated trials and tribulations in order to maintain their bliss?

    Do you think the absence of real belief in spirituality would render the concept of it, or for that matter the symbolic meaning of god, extinct? Non-believing artists have used, and continue to use, imagery of long dead gods and religions in order to convey ideas. As little use the concept of mind/body duality was to me, it could be very useful in a work of fiction or other piece of art, or just in engaging in fun conversation. I tend to think that humanity would retain its imaginative interest in the concept of spirituality, even in the absence of belief in it.

  6. Thanks Barbara, I wish I could say I touched on everything that was on my mind but I didn’t. I take it that the rest of your post is directed at Ben…

  7. Yes, the rest of the post was directed at Ben, although I’d be interested in any further thoughts you might have on the matter.

    I followed this link from the comment you left over at Atheist Experience, btw – thanks for that! And sorry for the long comment, I need to work on being more succinct.

  8. Barbara the true believers in reaching a state of bliss, do not do so by being ignorant. They do so by enveloping themselves in perspective, inundating themselves with confidence. These people are just wholly alright with their role in the universe. Yes some of them reached that plateau from archaic religious valleys. Well I won’t argue further because I am regurgitating information I don’t know. Pretty much I have a good friend who has much more perspective than anyone I have ever met(Academically, amazingly well read) if you would like to know precisely why spiritualism is important and not just ignorance I can hook you guys up with his email. He loves to talk to anyone.

  9. Ben, I don’t think your friends are coming from a place of ignorance – you are actually the only one whose used that term in these comments. I’m focusing on how important spirituality is (I’m assuming you meant to say spirituality rather than spiritualism, which is a concept that involves communication with the dead). You seem to feel it’s very important, and I don’t think that’s necessarily true.

    I approach areas of my life, and interactions with others, considering different perspectives, and remain open to new ones, without any attachment to the concept of spirituality. As far as being wholly right with my “role” in the universe – I’m comfortable with who and where I am. That’s not to say each of us aren’t born into particular circumstances that affect what paths we do, or even are allowed to, follow, but I don’t think there are preordained roles with which we must reconcile ourselves.

  10. I really love your post! I always go on the bus and get attack by random religious people. They even go as far as trying to follow me back home! I have had to call my father many times. When they see my dad they tell him I should be taken out school, because I am being “corupted”. Many of these x cons or x gangsters believe that religion will forgive everything they done, but it does not excuse it. I always tell them and they get really upset. You wrote down everything so simply. I really love your post.

  11. ant religious person should not have a freedom of speech not even someone like Muhammad ali because they don’t deserve it they talk absolute shit go on you tube and watch Jeremy kyle interview the west boro Baptist church and just see how deluded these people are if religion didn’t exist and people started saying that they would be put in a mental asylum but according to teachers government police parents we have to treat everyone’s beliefs as equal no matter how retarded I say fuck that im always rude to religious people as often as possible I always just start an argument just to see them infuriated of how are superior atheist mind make there’s look like a prehistoric drivelling hulk of nothing but useless un evolved crap who has never been taught anything I bet you have to teach religious people how to breath luna if any religious person followed me home id fuckin cave there head in and I have done that before its fun they actually tried to hit me with a bible which missed and when I had them on the floor with a broken jaw just for fun I burned it by the way this wasn’t in the middle of a street of course it was down an ally way only a religious person would be stupid enough to do it in front of every one people that believe in any sort of god or creationism or anything in any religious book should have all of there human right taken away even the basic human rights because according to them this life doesn’t matter so why don’t they just kill themselves I have no problem with that I mean a few people in my family believe in god but I wouldn’t care if they were gone less money for idiots to spend on bibles more for me to spend on a state of the art pc with 32 gb of ram witch costs 6000

  12. I am a Christian, and I must say well written. There are the extremist on both sides of the coin, the Radical Religious, and Radical Non-Religious. There are those who are “religious” and absolutely disgrace they faith they claim. I have met the same on the non-believing side. While David makes my point on the non-believing side, you can look at the crazies over at the Westboro Baptist Church who claim they are speaking for God.

    Regardless of your belief in God, or lack of belief, we all could stand to take a lesson as simple as, love your brother as yourself. Life a good life, and make the best out of every chance to help someone other than yourself.

    Thanks for the emulator reviews btw, helped me out. Have a good one.

    V/r,
    Daniel C.

  13. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Thanks!

  14. It is perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time
    to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few attention-grabbing things or advice. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article. I desire to read more things approximately it!

  15. Unquestionably believe that which you said.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined
    out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  16. Hi! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that
    might be able to fix this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Many thanks!

  17. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering
    the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield
    this hike.

  18. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  19. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem along with your site
    in internet explorer, would test this? IE nonetheless is the market leader and a
    large element of other folks will pass over your wonderful writing due to this problem.

  20. I was suggested this blog via my cousin. I am not positive whether or not this submit is written via him as
    nobody else recognise such specified approximately my
    problem. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  21. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but
    after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

